Day 123!

Wednesday
December 18, 2013

Word of the Day: Spontaneity

I love spontaneity!

I was suppose to have coffee with Carolina. My friend from tennis. She and her family are going to Spain for Christmas and we wanted to see each other before we all go our separate ways. Somehow it didn’t work out. She had an offer to go shopping in the morning while I had a tennis lesson with Desta then we would meet up in the afternoon to play tennis. But…instead Tim and I had to pick up our car. The dealership added keyless entry and ordered us a new seatbelt for the back seat. The seat belt was not retracting. Things always take longer here to do. But, we are learning to plan better around going places or at least letting people know where we are going and when we THINK we may be back. I also had promised Corinne since she did not have her car today that I would take her to her appointment on camp. We barely made it back in time to do that! I don’t like it if I tell someone that I will do something and then I don’t or can’t help.

Corinne and Santiago finally received their shipment from the states. They shipped some of their home items to Saudi. It takes up to 4 months to receive a shipment. You are not guaranteed the shape your furniture will be in by the time it reaches here. I am sooooo glad we didn’t ship anything. They had quite a bit of damage! They hope to get items repaired or replaced but that could also take months. They had water damage for some reason. I stopped by to see her house and what they brought to Saudi and I was amazed how much they had. Since we took cash in lieu of shipping we have been able to buy new and what we want to fit the life style here. Having said that I don’t like some of the furniture as it is quite gaudi (goddy) Xpats refer to it as Saudi Gaudi! lol…some of it is very unique though. I do like some of the art.

I am enjoying the evenings here. The weather is cooler and more enjoyable for golf and tennis. Night time golf here is very popular and I must say the course is lit very well.

Flying Jay Hawk aka MELinda aka Minister of the Interior

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.